Biographical Sketch
Member of Parliament
13th Lok Sabha



Father’s Name                  Late Shri Jamun Paswan

Mother’s Name                 Smt. Siya Devi

Date of Birth                     5 July 1946

Place of Birth                   Shaharbanni, Distt. Khagaria (Bihar)

Marital Status                   Married

Spouse’s Name                  Smt. Reena Paswan

No. of Sons                        One

No. of Daughters              Three

Educational                    M.A., B.L.
Qualifications                  Educated at Kosi College, Khagaria and Patna University, Patna (Bihar)

Profession                         Social Worker

Permanent Address           Vill. and P.O. Shaharbanni, Tola, Bellai,
                                           Distt. Khagaria-851 204 (Bihar)

Present Address                12, Janpath,
                                           New Delhi-110 001
                                           Tels. (011) 3017681, 3015249
                                           Fax. (011) 3794299

Positions Held

   1969                            Member, Bihar Legislative Assembly

   1970                            Joint-Secretary, S.S.P., Bihar

   1974                            General-Secretary, Lok Dal, Bihar

   1977                            Elected to 6th Lok Sabha

   1980                            Re-elected to 7th Lok Sabha (2nd term)

   1985-86                       General-Secretary, Lok Dal

   1987-88                       General-Secretary, Janata Party

  1988-90                       Secretary, National Front
                                       General-Secretary, Janata Dal

   1989                            Re-elected to 9th Lok Sabha (3rd term)

   1989-90                       Union Cabinet Minister, Labour and Welfare

   1991                            Re-elected to 10th Lok Sabha (4th term)

   1996                            Re-elected to 11th Lok Sabha (5th term)
                                       Leader of the House, Lok Sabha**

   1996-98                       Union Cabinet Minister, Railways

   1998                            Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (6th term)
                                       Leader, Janata Dal Parliamentary Party

   1998-99                       Member, General Purposes Committee
                                       Member, Committee on Railways
                                       Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Home Affairs

   1999                            Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (7th term)

   13 Oct. 1999-              Union Cabinet Minister, Communications
    1 Sept. 2001
    1 Sept. 2001-              Union Cabinet Minister, Coal and Mines

Sports and Clubs


Countries Visited

 Widely travelled

Other Information

 Member, Court, Jawaharlal Nehru University, 1998-99

                                      Election Result of  Hajipur-SC Lok Sabha Constituency

      Total electorate                                             10,64,323
      Total votes polled                                           7,90,448
      Poll percentage                                                 74.27%
      Valid votes                                                     7,79,601

      Votes polled in favour of the  first four leading candidates:

        (1) Shri Ram Vilas Paswan *         [J.D.(U)]     4,34,609     55.75%
        (2) Shri Ramai Ram                      (R.J.D.)      3,29,105     42.21%
        (3) Shri Ram Sundar Das              [S.J.P.(R)]      5,027        0.64%
        (4) Shri Vinod Paswan                 (Ind.)              3,795        0.49%

*    A break-away group of Janata Dal (United) w.e.f. 15 December 2000
*   Now a member of  Lok Jan Shakti Party, a break-away group of  Janata Dal (United)
      w.e.f.  15 December 2000
** During the tenure of 11th Lok Sabha, both the Prime Ministers being the Members of Rajya
     Sabha, Shri Paswan was designated as Leader of the House (Lok Sabha)