Biographical Sketch
Member of Parliament
13th Lok Sabha



Father's Name                      Shri Ganniyya Ganti

Mother's Name                      Smt. G. Satyamma

Date of Birth                         1 October 1951

Place of Birth                        Yedurulanka, Distt. East Godavari (Andhra Pradesh)

Marital Status                        Married

Date of Marriage                   16 April 1982

Spouse's Name                       Smt. Vijaya Kumari Ganti

No. of  Sons                            One

No. of Daughters                    Three

Educational                            M.A., B.L.
Qualifications                         Educated at Andhra University,Visakhapatnam (Andhra Pradesh)

Profession                                Lawyer, Political and Social Worker, Sportsman, Agriculturist and
                                                    Trade Unionist

Permanent Address                 Amalapuram, Distt. East Godavari-533126 (Andhra Pradesh)
                                                    Tel. and Fax (0884) 61791

Office Address                         17, Parliament House, New Delhi-110001
                                                     Tels. (011) 3017795, 3017914, 3013211
                                                     Fax. (011) 3792927

Residential Address                 20, Akbar Road, New Delhi - 110001
                                                     Tels. (011) 3014011, 3014022
                                                     Fax (011) 3016212

Positions Held

1987-91                             Chairman, Zilla Praja Parishad, Distt. East Godavari (Andhra Pradesh)

1991                                   Elected to 10th Lok Sabha

1996-98                             Member, Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly
                                           Minister, Higher Education, Andhra Pradesh

1998                                   Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (2nd term)

24 March 1998-                 Elected Speaker, Lok Sabha

1999                                  Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (3rd term)

22 Oct. 1999 -                    Speaker, Lok Sabha (Second term)

Positions Held as Speaker

Chairman, (i) Business Advisory Committee; (ii) Rules Committee; (iii) General
Purposes Committee; and (iv) Standing Committee of the Conference of Presiding
Officers of Legislative Bodies in India

President, (i) Indian Parliamentary Group; (ii) National Group of Inter-Parliamentary
Union; and (iii) India Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association

Social and Cultural Activities

President, Constitution Club; Organiser, (i) Song and drama competition among the pupils of all high schools
and employees of Panchayati Raj Bodies, 1991; (ii) relief and medical camps for the poor; striving for the
construction of two bridges at Yanam and Kotipalli to help flood and cyclone victims; solved drinking water
problem in villages; improved communication facilities; provided employment to, (i) 1260 teachers through
District Selection Committee; and (ii)129 legal heirs of deceased Government employees; and actively
participated in a number of seminars on social problems and also in Dr. Baba Saheb Ambedkar's Jayanti

Special Interests

Social service, especially for the poor and the down- trodden; concentration on developmental programmes
and rural development, particularly Konaseema area development

Sports and Clubs

Organiser, District-level sports among panchayati raj employees, East Godavari District,1991; and
President, Cricket Association, East Godavari District,Andhra Pradesh

Countries Visited

Widely travelled; Leader, Indian Parliamentary Delegation to, (i) 99th Inter Parliamentary Union
Conference,Windhock, Namibia, April, 1998; (ii) 100th Inter-Parliamentary Union Conference,
Moscow, Russia,September, 1998; (iii) 44th Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference,
Wellington, New Zealand, October, 1998; (iv) 3rd Conference of the Association of SAARC
Speakers and Parliamentarians, Dhaka, Bangladesh, March, 1999; (v) 101st Inter-Parliamentary
Union Conference, Brussels, Belgium, April, 1999; (vi) 45th Commonwealth Parliamentary
Conference, Trinidad and Tobago, Court of Spain, Sept. 1999; (vii) 7th General Assembly of the
Asia Pacific Parliamentarians Conference on Environment and Development, Chiang Mai,
Thailand, November, 1999; (viii) 15th Commonwealth Speakers and Presiding Officers Conference,
Canberra, Australia, January, 2000; (ix) 103rd Inter-Parliamentary Union Conference, Amman,
Jordan, April, 2000; (x) Conference of Presiding Officers of National Parliaments at the United
Nations General Assembly, New York, USA, August, 2000; (xi) 46th Commonwealth Parliamentary
Conference, London, UK, Septmeber, 2000; (xii) 104th Inter-Parliamentary Union Conference,
Jakarta, October, 2000; (xiii) 105th Inter-Parliamentary Conference, Havana, Cuba, April, 2001;
(xiv) 47th Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference, Australia, September, 2001; and (xv) 106th
Inter-Parliaemntary Confernece, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, September, 2001.

Also led Parliamentary Delegations to Turkey, Iraq, Morocco, Russia, Fance, Mauritius and Czech
Republic, also visited Canada, Switzerland, Japan, Netherlands, Singapore, U.A.E., Germany, Italy,
Maldives, South Africa, Bahrain, Sri Lanka, Indonesia, Greece, Egypt, Tanzania, Mexico and Mongolia.

Other Information

As Minister of Higher Education in the Government of Andhra Pradesh, took initiatives and made sincere
efforts in strengthening and streamlining the eudcation system; District Munsif , Kakinada; Chairman,
District Selection Committee; and Vice-Chairman, Cooperative Town Bank, Kakinada, Andhra Pradesh,

Election Result of  Amalapuram -SC Lok Sabha Constituency
Electors                   9,08,257
Voters                     6,85,230
Poll Percentage         75.44%
Valid Votes              6,63,249
Votes polled in favour of the first four leading candidates
1. Shri Ganti Mohana Chandra Balayogi     (T.D.P.)             3,68,476     55.56%
2. Shri Gollapalli Suryarao                          (I.N.C.)             2,49,597     37.63%
3. Shri Akumarthi Suryanarayana                [M.C.P.I.(S)]      26,487        3.99%
4. Shri Saka Yesuratnam                            (A.T.D.P.)           16,769        2.53%